New Brunswick 2016

Day 1. To New Brunswick   (29 June 2016 Wednesday)
  • drive to Cambridge-Narrows NB - 470 miles 8 hours 20 minutes
  • check in at Cambridge-Narrows Campgrounds
  • about New Brunswick
  • Day 2. Cambridge-Narrows Village and Washademoak Lake   (30 June 2016 Thursday)
  • around and about Cambridge-Narrows Village
  • kayak the Washademoak Lake
  • Hendry Farm Lighthouse, Mott's Landing Vineyard
  • Day 3. Canada Day in Fredericton, New Brunswick   (1 July 2016 Friday)
  • Canada Day celebrations
  • Changing of the Guard Ceremony, Soldiers‛ Barracks
  • Historic Garrison District, Government House
  • Corbett Centre and Regent Mall
  • Day 4. Bay of Fundy   (2 July 2016 Saturday)
  • drive to Saint Martins NB - 56 miles 1 hour 24 minutes
  • Fundy Trail Provincial Park
  • Big Salmon River Suspension Bridge and Interpretive Center
  • Day 5. Kings Landing Historical Settlement   (3 July 2016 Sunday)
  • drive to Kings Landing in Prince William NB - 68 miles 1 hour 10 minutes
  • Kings Landing Historical Settlement
  • Trans Canada Trail Pavilion and Walking Bridge in Fredericton NB
  • Corbett Centre and Regent Mall
  • Day 6. Saint John, New Brunswick   (4 July 2016 Monday)
  • drive to Saint John NB - 52 miles 1 hour+
  • Reversing Rapids at Fallswiew Park
  • Harbour Passage, Market Square, Saint John City Market
  • Day 7. Drive Back Home Sweet Home   (5 July 2016 Tuesday)
  • drive back to Norfolk MA - 470 miles 8 hours 20 minutes
  • Home Sweet Home

  • Day 1. To New Brunswick, Canada   (29 June 2016 Wednesday)
    drive to Cambridge-Narrows, New Brunswick - 512 miles 7 hours 50 minutes driving time
    check in at Cambridge-Narrows Campgrounds in Cambridge-Narrows NB
    45 miles east of Fredericton NB. Located in picturesque Cambridge Narrows New Brunswick, you will find peace and serenity on the shores of Washademoak Lake. Chalet with 3 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 6. Kitchen has microwave oven, refrigerator, stove, dish and cutlery. With Internet access. Outdoors features BBQ, dock, fire pit, life jackets, playground, pool (in ground). At 2349 Lower Cambridge Road (Route 715), Cambridge-Narrows, New Brunswick E4C 1N9
    Phone 506 567 9025 Website
    Distances to major cities: (1) Moncton 88 miles 1 hour 30 minutes
    (2) Fredericton 44 miles 45 minutes   (3) Saint John 52 miles 1 hour 5 minutes
    About New Brunswick
    New Brunswick (French: Nouveau-Brunswick is one of Canada's three Maritime provinces and is the only province in the Canadian federation that is constitutionally bilingual (English–French). It was created as a result of the partitioning of the British Colony of Nova Scotia in 1784. Fredericton is the capital and Saint John is the most populous city. The province is named for the city of Braunschweig, formerly known in English as Brunswick, located in modern day Lower Saxony in northern Germany.
    New Brunswick is truly a must-see destination offering a world of natural wonders, vibrant cities and towns and unique activities to explore. Here, the world's highest tides rise and fall the height of a four-storey building, twice a day, every day. That's just the beginning of the wonder waiting in New Brunswick …a place where rivers stretch from breathtaking all the way to beautiful. Where you will be fascinated by the fragile beauty of coastal dunes…or inspired by the Appalachians, some of the oldest mountains on the planet!
    Economy - Like much of Canada and especially like the other Atlantic provinces, New Brunswick has had, since its earliest settlement, an economy that is closely tied to its natural resources. Forestry products (including manufactured items) have been New Brunswick's economic mainstay throughout its history. Both fishing and agriculture have declined in significance.

    Day 2. Cambridge-Narrows Village and Washademoak Lake   (30 June 2016 Thursday)
    About Cambridge-Narrows Village
    The village of Cambridge-Narrows is located in south central New Brunswick on the picturesque Washademoak lake. Unspoiled landscape, scenic views, and local hospitality give the community it's country charm. The village is home to approximately 650 residents, and a greater number of seasonal cottage dwellers. The three local campgrounds attract a considerable number of residents during the summer months. The village was originally founded as two settlements, one on either side of the Washademoak Lake, Cambridge and The Narrows. In 1966, and government came into leadership and merged the two settlements, to form Cambridge-Narrows. Website
    Kayak on Washademoak Lake
  • drive east and put in at Route 10, Old Bridge Road in Johnston NB
  • paddle downriver to Cambridge-Narrows campgrounds; estimated distance 12 miles
  • Hendry Farm Lighthouse
    The lighthouse was built in 1869 and altered periodically as technical progress required. It was a very important navigational feature for boats entering or leaving Lake Washademoak. The channel at the entrance is narrow and this light was lined up with another on Musquash Island in the main river to expedite safe passage. For over seventy years after it was built, river steamers went up and down the lake as much as six times a week throughout the navigation season, while wood boats and other craft were even more plentiful. Consequently, the Hendry Farm Lighthouse is a very important structure in Queens County’s navigational history, making it worthy of preservation as a tourist attraction to show visitors “how it used to be”.
    Mott's Landing Vineyard
    Last weekend as AG & I drove to Moncton, we stopped in Cambridge-Narrows to spend a few hours hanging out with Emily & Brad. (How happy am I to have met these two? They are so great, there were cookies for breakfast and they even made us lunch.) We all went over to Motts Landing Vineyard to do a wine-tasting. I was pleasantly surprised by a few different varieties, especially the Prairie Star
    Washademoak Lake History
    Long before Europeans arrived in Cambridge-Narrows, the first peoples were using the Washademoak Lake as a major trade route between the Bay of Fundy and the St. John river. They fished the generous waters and hunted in the rich forests. The lake provided transportation routes for the riverboats that would arrive. And arrive they did! The riverboats defined an era for the village of Cambridge-Narrows. That era lasted from the mid-19th century until the last riverboat left the Washademoak Lake in 1947.

    Day 3. Canada Day in Fredericton, New Brunswick   (1 July Friday)
    drive to Fredericton NB - 44 miles 50 minutes
    About Fredericton NB
    In 1783, United Empire Loyalists settled in St. Anne’s Point after the American Revolution. This year is regarded as the founding of the City of Fredericton. About 2,000 Loyalists settled in the area, including several army regiments. Surrounded by deep snow, bitter cold, canvas tents and a scarcity of supplies, many perished. Surviving Loyalists petitioned Governor Parr in Halifax to make the area north of the Bay of Fundy a separate province. In the following year, New Brunswick became a separate colony from Nova Scotia and St. Anne’s Point became the provincial capital. The founding of King’s College in 1785 coincided with the renaming of the settlement to “Frederick’s Town”, in honour of the second son of King George III of the United Kingdom. From this name came the present “Fredericton”.
    The British Government was quick to approve the capital town and Fredericton became home to several military regiments. The Infantry School Corps (later the Royal Canadian Regiment) was born here in December, 1883. The Historic Garrison District downtown is a tribute to the army’s importance to early Fredericton. In 1845, although the population was not technically large enough, Queen Victoria named Fredericton a Cathedral City and a crew went to work on the Cathedral, the spire of which still dominates the Fredericton skyline. This allowed Fredericton to achieve city status and the City was offi cially incorporated by the provincial legislature on March 1848.
    Source Fredericton 2014 Visitor Guide pdf

    Canada Day in Fredericton NB
    Festivities kick off at noon in Officers’ Square with a full day of fun activities, live entertainment, food vendors, and a huge fireworks display over the St. John River at dusk.
  • face painting, henna, & airbrush tattoos
  • buskers and street performers on Queen Street
  • free cake after opening ceremonines; food vendors
  • 12noon to 10:30 pm Live music on 2 stages, Officers' Square Stage and Barracks Stage
  • 12noon to 4pm York Sunbury Museum open with Kids Activities
  • 10:40pm Fireworks     Website
  • Fredericton City Hall
    A National Historic Site. Located at the corner of Queen and York Sts., Fredericton’s City Hall is the oldest City Hall still in use in the Maritime Provinces. Visitors to the building can tour the Council Chamber to view the restored clockworks and a series of tapestries which are on permanent display. The tower clock, its eight-foot dials, copper hands and reliable chimes have been keeping downtown businesses and customers on time ever since. The fountain in front of City Hall was constructed in 1885. Freddy, “the little nude dude” as he is affectionately called, sits on top of the fountain. Look for the original Freddy, older than the Statue of Liberty, in City Hall.
    Government House in Fredericton NB
    Since its official re-opening on July 1, 1999, thousands of people have toured Government House, making it one of New Brunswick's most popular tourist attractions. A number of the historic furnishings in Government House are original pieces that date back to the early 1800's, including a dining room table, several chairs and sofas and three chandeliers. About 400 items of the Government House collection were auctioned in 1897; about 150 pieces have been re-acquired through purchase, donations or gifts in kind. The ground floor contains the public entrance, kitchen and mechanical rooms. The main floor houses the reception area, the drawing room, the dining room and breakfast room, a library, a music room and two conservatories, as well as the original Lieutenant-Governor's office. Rotating exhibits of New Brunswick art, paintings and crafts are featured throughout the year in the second floor gallery. This floor also houses the office of the current Lieutenant-Governor and her staff. The third floor is the Lieutenant-Governor's private residence. It is not open to the public. From mid-May to the end of August free bilingual tours are offered Monday-Saturday from 10am to 4pm and Sundays from 12 noon to 4pm. The tours are approximately 45 minutes in length. Government House is located at 51 Woodstock Road in Fredericton on the St. John River.

  • 1 City Hall and Visitor Information Centre
  • 2 Justice Building, including ‘School Days’ Museum
  • 3 NB College of Craft and Design & Gallery
  • 4 Soldiers’ Barracks / Barracks Square
  • 5 Guard House
  • 6 Fredericton Tourism Administration Office
  • 7 Fredericton Public Library
  • 8 NB Sports Hall of Fame
  • 9 Fredericton Region Museum
  • 10 Officers’ Square
  • Historic Garrison District in Fredericton NB
    The Historic Garrison District is the National Historic Site is where you'll find an enticing blend of musicians, artists and historic re-enactments. It is Fredericton's historic and cultural heart. Located in the city's beautiful downtown, corner of Queen and Carleton Streets, next to the St. John River, the Garrison is a centre for heritage, culture, craft and entertainment. Visitors will find a variety of attractions and activities in the Historic Garrison District including the Changing of the Guard, tours, concerts, artisans at work, gift shops, and live theatre. This five-block area is one of the city’s most historic and attractive areas, and features 26 attractions and points of interest. Guided tours are offered daily from City Hall throughout the summer at 10am, and 2:30pm. Fredericton’s Historic Garrison District was declared a National Historic Site in 1964, and in 1965 was designated a protected Provincial Historic Site.
  • Changing of the Guard Ceremony With a flash of scarlet and a skirl of pipes, history comes to life! The Canadian Army was born in 1884 with the establishment of the Infantry School Corps, Company 'A' in Fredericton. Watch as period-dressed guard re-enact a drill ceremony to the beat of a piper and drummer. Maybe you will be selected to 'inspect' the guard! Ceremonies take place at Officers' Square in July & August: 7 days a week at 11am & 4pm
  • Soldiers’ Barracks & The Barracks Fine Craft Shops at 463 Queen St. A little further down, the old Soldiers’ Barracks sits almost on the corner of Carleton St., with its back to Queen St. The Soldiers’ Barracks is an 1827, three and a half storey stone structure built by the British Army to accommodate more than 200 British soldiers. Life was crowded – 19 soldiers to a room. They slept on iron beds, while wooden pegs and shelves held their belongings. A table and wooden benches were the only other furniture.
  • The Guard House At 15 Carleton St. The restored Orderly Room in the Guard House, with its nominal rolls and leave passes, looks much as it did in 1829 when it was first occupied by the 1st Battalion of the Rifl e Brigade. A disastrous fi re destroyed the original Guard House, cells and 9 other buildings. The Guard Room was home to the 12-man Main Guard. A private soldier in an infantry regiment of 1828 to 1869 could expect to be detailed for either Night Guard or Day Guard at least twice a month. The Guard Room looks as it did in 1866, when the 15th Regiment used the muskets, uniforms and equipment on display.

  • Day 4. Bay of Fundy   (2 July 2016 Saturday)
    drive to Saint Martins NB - 55 miles 1 hour 25 minutes
    About Saint Martins NB
    Located on the shores of the famous Bay of Fundy, home to the World`s Highest Tides, St. Martins is a beautiful, picturesque village with a rich history. Our scenic village has many interesting features, included are Victorian properties; miles of unspoiled, quiet, accessible beaches; two lighthouses; a garden-park; an active harbour boasting two covered bridges; world famous `Sea Caves`.
    Nestled on miles of quiet, unspoiled beaches, the serene village of St. Martins is the gateway to the spectacular Fundy Trail. It was from the beaches of St. Martins that 500 sailing ships were built and launched in the golden age of sail. The history of this era is recorded for visitors at the Quaco Museum. The shipbuilders left a magnificent architectural legacy in their homes throughout the village. Rising around the village are red sea cliffs and caves where the highest tides in the world sweep in and out. Website
    Fundy Trail Parkway in Saint Martins NB
    The Fundy Trail opens up previously unreachable areas of the Bay of Fundy coastline and panoramic views. The 16 km (10 miles) trail begins just outside St. Martins, New Brunswick and is less than an hour’s drive from Saint John or Sussex on Route 111. Hugging cliff tops above the world’s highest tides, the Fundy Trail winds its way along one of the last remaining coastal wilderness areas between Florida and Labrador. The area is the breeding habitat for Right Whales and is one of he best places in the world for viewing marine and wildlife.
    One of the easiest ways to see one of world’s most stunning coastlines is from the comfort of your vehicle. The paved, low-speed auto parkway winds past scenic lookouts along the 16-kilometre (10-mile) route to Cranberry Brook Lookout. Spacious, complimentary on-site parking areas allow easy access to footpaths, picnic areas and rest stops. Step out of your vehicle into the only coastal wilderness remaining on the entire east coast of North America.
  • Lookouts There are over a sixteen lookouts and observation areas — many of which are wheelchair accessible — strategically situated at scenic areas. On a clear day, Ile Haute and the coast of Nova Scotia can be seen rising out of the mists across the Bay. Each lookout offers vistas of stunning natural beauty in several directions. These facilities and their associated observation decks serve as linkages to trails and footpaths. Complimentary on-site parking areas for all visitors, including motorcoach and group tour operators, are strategically placed throughout the park. Wildlife, marine and plant life can be sighted in their natural habitat along the auto parkway and bicycle/footpaths.
    Open 8am to 8pm. Admission $6.

  • Fuller Falls A stop on the tour will be at the Fuller Falls Lookout at a layby on the right just before coming to Parking Lot #4. Fuller Falls is one of many favorite attractions in our park. Here you can have a look from the top of the actual falls below, or walk the cable ladder to the lookout landing below.
  • Heritage Sawmill & Interpretation An ecological Learning Quest - Discovery Experience demonstrating the type of logging and forest harvesting conducted by the original settlers and lumbering companies in the Big Salmon River and area in the 1800's. An interpreter focuses on the exhibits featuring photographs, artifacts, and displays of items used in the lumbering industry along the Bay of Fundy during the past 150 years. A thriving logging industry existed at Big Salmon River in the 1800’s. Most of the coastal settlements were abandoned in the early 1900’s with the decline of the lumber industry; this project illustrates the cultural and heritage highlights of the region. The regenerative forces of nature reclaimed historic settlements; interpretation of this heritage and the power of nature is interwoven.
  • Suspension Bridge - Above the Interpretive Centre, near the salmon pools at the site of the original covered bridge which once stood here, is a suspension footbridge across the crystal clear waters of the Big Salmon River, a popular spot for visitors.
  • Big Salmon River Interpretive Centre At the Interpretive Centre, the rich history of the logging, fishing and shipbuilding community which once flourished here is brought to life. The building housing the Interpretive Centre is a re-creation of the bunkhouse which once housed the single men who worked and lived here. In the late 1800s and well into the mid-1950s, Big Salmon River was a flourishing logging, fishing and shipbuilding community. Today, almost the only signs that people once lived and worked here are the foundation of the one-room schoolhouse and the remains of the sluice down which logs were sent to the mill. In 2002, introduced was a publication, Trailblazers, an illustrated history of Great Salmon River and its evolution from logging community to leisure community; the story of the pioneers who carved a life from the wilderness, to those whose vision built the Fundy Trail. Now kayaks glide silently up the Big Salmon at high tide past the remnants of the piers of the sawmill and the dock.
    The Interpretive Centre houses many displays of original artifacts and old photographs from the era when the paternalistic Pejepscot Paper Company provided housing, a schoolhouse, community centre and even electricity for the settlement at Big Salmon River. Interpretive Centre staff offer presentations every fifteen minutes daily which include providing interpretation of the exhibits of photos and memorabilia of this once-viable community, and a video touching on some of the historical background.
  • Cranberry Brook Lookout Cranberry Brook has an excellent view and photo opportunity overlooking Big Salmon River, the Interpretive Centre and the river delta. Cranberry Lookout features picnic tables and benches for a perfect picnic area. You may even get a glance at a Bald Eagle.
    At Melvin Beach Road, St Martins, NB Website

  • Day 5. Kings Landing Historical Settlement   (3 July 2016 Sunday)
    drive to Kings Landing Historical Settlement in Prince William NB - 68 miles 1 hour 10 minutes
    Kings Landing Historical Settlement in Prince William NB
    Time travel has never been more fun and interesting than it is at Kings Landing! The 1800s is alive and well at this Living History Museum in New Brunswick, Canada. Butter Making, Spinning Wool, Forging Nails, Splitting Logs… the 19th century at its best.
    King’s Landing Historical Settlement is an outdoor Living History Museum, recreating the lives of New Brunswickers in the 1800s. Visitors are provided with a village map and make their way through the site at their own pace. Explore New Brunswick’s culture and heritage. Get hands-on in the homes – try butter making, dipping candles and spinning wool. Visit the farm to see the horses, cows, pigs, sheep and chickens. Hop on a wagon to travel in time 19th century style.
    Each home and trade area at Kings Landing has been restored to a different time period. Look for differences in style of clothing, technology, cooking utensils, architectural styles of the home, conveniences such as water and more. Visitors to Kings Landing find themselves in the middle of historic storylines and immersed in the 1800s by helping the villagers to make butter, fill wood boxes, bake over an open hearth or spin wool every single day.
    Kings Landing was created in the late 1960s. The buildings were moved to this site to allow construction of a hydro-electric dam, which raised the water level of the St. John River over 150 feet. The research on each home was meticulous, and the history presented is based on real families.
    The name Kings Landing Historical Settlement was chosen for the Kings American Dragoons, a regiment of loyalists in the American Revolution, and “Landing”, for a stopping point or wharf where boats could tie up. Kings Landing is a Crown Corporation of the Province of New Brunswick, under the department of Tourism.
    We offer you 4 different ways to experience our village:
  • Museum – In these homes you will see some of the finest antiques from Kings Landing’s collection, and learn interesting facts about the lifestyle of 1800s New Brunswickers.
  • Story – As you step into these areas you will be entertained (in a dramatic fashion) with the daily shenanigans, goings on and poignant events of 19th century village life!
  • Hands On - Roll up your sleeves and be ready to pitch in! Our villagers have many projects on the go and need your help with activities like butter-making, weeding the gardens and spinning wool. Here is your chance to participate in 19th century living!

  • Trades – Our tradesmen are busy filling orders for their customers. See them hard at work, making nails, shingles, and anything else needed to keep our village running!
  • King’s Head Inn - At the King’s Head Inn, costumed servers offer hearty meals and light lunches in this 19th century inn. A garden and an English-style pub enhance the authentic atmosphere. Typical fare at the Inn includes local cider, fresh brown bread (a King’s Head Inn specialty), soups, chowders, Salads, entrees and desserts.
    Kings Landing is part of a back-breeding program for livestock, vegetables, fruit and flowers. Many of the varieties you will see are examples of types common in the 19th century, but less common or almost extinct today.
    Animals were an essential part of daily life. Look for the dog-powered butter churn at the Joslin Farm, the horse-powered saw near the Lint barn, the ox team and many other examples of how animals were integral for human prosperity.
    Open 10am-5pm. Admission $17+tax. Website
  • drive back to Fredericton NB - 28 miles 35 minutes
    Legislative Assembly Building in Fredericton NB
    The Legislative Assembly Building in Fredericton has been the seat and symbol of democracy in New Brunswick since 1882, when it replaced a building that had been destroyed by fire two years earlier. The building is a three-story sandstone building with mansard roof and corner towers built in the Second Empire Style. Its central octagon domed tower, which rises 41 metres above the main roof level, is a Fredericton landmark. Open 9am to 5pm.
    Trans Canada Trail Pavilion and Walking Bridge
    Officially opened on August 4, 1997, the Trans Canada Trail Pavilion is one of several such pavilions across Canada located along the Trans Canada Trail.
    Adjacent to the pavilion is an old CN Railway bridge, which has been transformed into a trail bridge connecting the north and south sides of Fredericton. The bridge is part of the Trans Canada Trail network / NB Trail system and is 1,905 feet (0.6 km) long.
    Source: Fredericton Visitor Guide brochure
    Corbett Centre and Regent Mall in Fredericton NB
    The Corbett Centre is Fredericton's newest shopping and dining centre offering a pedestrian friendly environment with ample parking. Located at the top of Regent Street, it’s anchored by big box stores Costco, Winners Michaels, Pet Smart, and Bed Bath & Beyond, Gap Outlet, Carters/Oshkosh & more! For an indoor shopping experience, Fredericton’s Regent Mall features 115 stores and services including H&M, Bath & Body Works, Sears, Wal-Mart, Toys R Us, Cineplex 10-plex cinema.

    Day 6. Saint John, New Brunswick   (4 July 2016 Monday) About Saint John, New Brunswick
    Saint John is located on Atlantic Canada’s Bay of Fundy at the mouth of the St. John River. Saint John is the economic engine room of the province, a gritty port city with a dynamism that's missing from the demure capital. The setting is spectacular – a ring of rocky bluffs, sheer cliffs, coves and peninsulas surrounding a deep natural harbor where the mighty Saint John and Kennebecasis Rivers empty into the Bay of Fundy. It can take a bit of imagination to appreciate this natural beauty, obscured as it is by the smokestacks of a pulp mill, oil refinery and garden-variety urban blight. The city is surrounded by an ugly scurf of industrial detritus and a tangle of concrete overpasses. But those who push their way through all this to the historic core are rewarded with beautifully preserved redbrick and sandstone 19th-century architecture and glimpses of the sea down steep, narrow side streets. Downtown (known as Uptown) Saint John sits on a square, hilly peninsula between the mouth of the St John River and Courtenay Bay. Kings Sq marks the nucleus of town, and its pathways duplicate the pattern of the Union Jack. Source
    Stroll Harbour Passage in Saint John NB
    Take a stroll along Harbour Passage’s cranberry-coloured trail, a series of interconnected walkways, lookouts and heritage sites linking the Reversing Rapids to uptown Saint John. Interpretive structures and panels along the way bring Saint John’s vibrant shipbuilding and waterfront history to life, and highlight our extraordinary natural environment. Ideal for walking, running and biking, the trail includes stretches of Water Street, the boardwalk at Market Square, and the neighbourhood around Barbour’s General Store. Source
    Market Square
    The historic Market Slip area of the Saint John waterfront has been a destination for hundreds of years. Nowadays visitors enjoy dining, shopping, relaxing, and playing along the boardwalk and in Market Square’s public spaces, which are an intriguing blend of historic and modern architecture and style, incorporating the old brick façades of the warehouses that used to line Market Slip over a century ago. Hosting events including buskers, beer festivals and other entertainment all year long, Market Square is part of the Inside Connection, which links to the Hilton hotel, and the Harbour Passage trail. Source

    Saint John City Market
    Sitting at Market Square in downtown Saint John, the Saint John City Market has been in operation since the late 1700s, making it the oldest continuing farmer's market in Canada. But before you become too engrossed in the many mouthwatering offerings at the vendors' tables, make sure to cast your glance upward. The ceiling of this massive 19th-century building (the original market was held outside) resembles the upturned hull of a ship -- a tribute to the city's shipping industry. Once you've finished feasting your eyes, indulge your appetite with some fresh eats -- you'll find everything from salads and sandwiches to fish and chips, not to mention handmade arts and crafts. Source
    Reversing Rapids at Fallswiew Park
    The amazing phenomenon of the Reversing Rapids is a sight to behold. If you time it just right, you can watch the Bay of Fundy’s monstrously high tide reverse the flow of the mighty St. John River, even as it pushes through a gorge formed by the collision of continents millions of years ago. Get a bird’s eye view on the waves and whirlpools that result from nature’s tug-of-war, at Fallsview and Wolastoq parks. Source The Reversing Rapids are created by the collision of the Bay of Fundy’s monstrous tides and the mighty St. John River. The Bay of Fundy tides are a result of tidal action originating in the Southern Indian Ocean sweeping around the Cape of Good Hope and then northward into the Bay of Fundy. They are also affected by the distance of the moon from the earth at this longitude. In Saint John, the Bay of Fundy tides rise 8.5 metres (28.5 feet) and completes a high-tide/low-tide cycle just about every 12.5 hours. To best appreciate the Reversing Rapids, try to view them at least twice – near low tide and near high tide. A good water-level vantage point from which to view them is Fallsview Park.
  • Slack tide - As the Bay’s tides begin to rise, they slow the course of the river and finally stop the river’s flow completely. This short period of complete calm is called slack tide and lasts about 20 minutes. It is only at this time that boats are able to navigate the Rapids. Shortly after this slack tide, the Bay’s tides become higher than the river level.
  • High tide - As the Bay’s tides continue to rise, their powerful force gradually reverses the flow of the river and the rapids begin to form again, reaching their peak at high tide. The effect of this reversal is felt upstream as far as Fredericton, more than 128.7 kilometres (80 miles) inland.
  • Irving Nature Park 10 miles southwest of Saint John NB
    If you don't feel like trekking all the way to Fundy National Park, you'll find excellent views of the bay just a short drive from downtown at Irving Nature Park. Occupying a narrow peninsula about 10 miles southwest of Saint John, this 600-acre green space features breathtaking Fundy vistas, not to mention a variety of habitats such as a forest, a salt marsh estuary, a beach and a bog. You can explore all the park has to offer by following its numerous hiking trails. This is also a great place for wildlife lovers: Irving Nature Park is welcomes roughly 250 different species of birds, while maritime mammals such as whales are often spotted off-shore.

    Day 7. Drive Back Home Sweet Home   (5 July 2016 Tuesday)
    drive back home to Norfolk MA - 512 miles 7 hours 50 minutes driving time
    Home Sweet Home
    Download printer-friendly PDF version:
    (black letters on white background)